New Jersey Attorney Defends Clients Accused of Drunk Driving
Firm represents Middlesex, Somerset and Mercer County motorists in DWI cases
Many motorists charged with Driving While Intoxicated choose not to challenge the case against them, particularly if their breathalyzer result indicates a blood-alcohol concentration over the legal limit. Often, DWI defendants are not familiar with the municipal court system and believe that they don’t have a chance to avoid a guilty verdict. At John VR. Strong, Jr. in New Brunswick, we explain to Central Jersey clients what defenses are available to them and push back against improper law enforcement tactics. With decades of experience defending the rights of Middlesex, Somerset and Mercer County residents, you can rely on us to handle your drunk-driving case with the highest degrees of professionalism and service.
Penalties for driving under the influence
For most New Jersey motorists, a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 is defined as legal intoxication. Penalties for DWI convictions in the state include the following:
- First offense — Even a first-time drunk driver could spend time in jail. If you are convicted, you also must pay hundreds of dollars in fines and court costs and lose your driving privileges for three months or more.
- Second offense — Minimum incarceration for a repeat DWI offender rises to 48 hours and possible jail. The fine increases, and when motorists are allowed to drive again, they must install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. License suspension lasts at least a year and there is also a community service requirement following a second DWI conviction.
- Third and subsequent offenses — Following a third offense and any subsequent DWI conviction, a motorist is jailed for at least 180 days loss of license for 10 years. Other aspects of the penalty, including the fine, and community service obligation, are also more severe.
There are also several factors that can increase the severity of a DWI penalty, including a BAC above .10 percent, operating a vehicle with a suspended license or driving while a child is in the car. You should also understand that New Jersey’s implied consent law means that your license will be automatically suspended if you refuse to take a sobriety test requested by a police officer, regardless of whether you were driving under the influence or not.
Potential defenses to a drunk-driving charge
Police officers frequently make errors in DWI enforcement and if they overstep their authority, key evidence could be excluded no matter what a breathalyzer result says. The officer must have a reasonable suspicion that illegal activity is occurring to stop your vehicle. This must be based on more than a hunch. Probable cause must exist for an arrest to be completed. There are several different ways in which a sobriety test result can be mishandled or misinterpreted as well. Consulting with an attorney who can identify and challenge law enforcement lapses could be the difference between a plea bargain and a conviction that haunts you for years to come. Attorney John VR. Strong, Jr. has the municipal court experience to safeguard your fundamental rights and press for a favorable resolution whether that is a dismissal, acquittal or reduction in your charge. We also handle drug-related charges and other types of offenses, including driving violations.
Contact an experienced New Jersey DWI defense lawyer and Municipal Court lawyer to schedule a free consultation
John VR. Strong, Jr. in New Brunswick defends Central Jersey motorists accused of drunk driving and drug-related charges and driving .violations. To discuss your legal options in a free initial consultation, please call 732-979-2166 or contact us online. Our office is in New Brunswick. Se habla español.